Holy Orders

“Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time: thus it is the sacrament of apostolic ministry. It includes three degrees: episcopate, presbyterate, and diaconate.” (Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1536)

“The sacrament of Holy Orders is conferred by the laying on of hands followed by a solemn prayer of consecration asking God to grant the ordinand the graces of the Holy Spirit required for his ministry. Ordination imprints an indelible sacramental character.” (Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1597)


St. Paul said to his disciple Timothy:
"I remind you to rekindle the gift of God that is within you through the laying on of my hands" 
   --2 Timothy 1:6

"If any one aspires to the office of bishop, he desires a noble task."
--1 Timothy 3:1


Who to Contact

For more information about the Priesthood and the Religious Life, contact:

Fr. Patrick Ike Nwokoye 

Fr. J. Friedel 

SCG Vocations
Contact Info

St. Francis Xavier Catholic Church

245 West Front Street, Sikeston, MO 63801

Phone: 573-471-2441

Fax: 573-471-9820

Mass Schedule

Monday & Friday - 8:15 am

Wednesday - 5:15PM

Saturday - 4:00 pm

Sunday - 10:00 am

Spanish Mass - 8:00 am 

St. Francis Facebook